AFTRS Announces New Appointments – School Council and Academic Board

Chair of the Australian Film Television and Radio School (AFTRS)  Russel Howcroft today announced new appointments to the School’s Council and Academic Board.

Tanya Hosch, General Manager of Inclusion and Social policy at the Australian Football League (AFL) is joining the Council.

Ms Hosch has a long and distinguished history in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander policy, advocacy, governance and fundraising.  Before joining the AFL as the first ever Indigenous person and the second only woman in their Executive ranks, Tanya was the Joint Campaign director of the Recognise movement for constitutional reform.

Tanya is also a member of the Indigenous Advisory Group of the NAB and is a Board Director of the Indigenous Land Corporation, Circus Oz, the Australian Indigenous Governance Institute and was a member of the Referendum Council that led the process and final recommendation that resulted in The Statement from the Heart in May 2017.

Professor Mark Rose, who is based at RMIT in Melbourne, has been appointed as Chair of the AFTRS Academic Board, taking over from the University of Sydney’s Robyn Ewing, AO, who is finishing her second term.

Professor Rose is traditionally linked to the Gunditjmara Nation of western Victoria.  With a 40-year career in education he has contributed to a broad range of educational settings both nationally and internationally and has consulted regularly with Indigenous and non-Indigenous organisations here and overseas.  For over a decade he has taught in predominantly postgraduate leadership programs for RMIT University’s Faculty of Business in Australia as well as Beijing, Hong Kong, Singapore and Malaysia. He is also Chair of the NT-based Batchelor Institute of Tertiary Education.

Also appointed to the Academic Board are Vaughan Dai Rees, Associate Dean International & Engagement at UNSW Art & Design, and Christine Burton who is Associate Dean Education at the UTS Business School. They join Rachael Weiss who is currently University Quality Manager at University of Sydney.

Joining the Finance and Risk Management (FARM) committee is David Sturgiss who has experience in both education and broadcast, working as CFO at ANU and WIN.

“These are significant appointments to both the Council, FARM and the Academic Board of AFTRS. It is essential that we have Indigenous representation on the two key boards that oversee the school to ensure we are reflecting and considering first nation storytellers.  I look forward to working with Tanya Hosch and Mark Rose and welcome their contributions,” Russel Howcroft said.

“It is also pleasing to note that the Academic Board appointments have boosted the Board’s range of skills across creativity, business and representation that will help the School achieve excellence.”

Mr Howcroft thanks departing Academic Board Chair Robyn Ewing and independent members Graham Forsyth and Graham Hendry who have completed their terms.

AFTRS Council members are Russel Howcroft (chair), Katrina Sedgwick, Annabelle Herd, Carole Campbell, Peter Tonagh, Neil Peplow (CEO), Pearl Tan (staff representative) and Adam Boys (student representative).



Manage your own ads on this web site. For more, click the button below.