Justin Milne Named ABC Chairman

The Australian Broadcasting Corporation has announced the appointment of Justin Milne as its new Chairman.

Speaking on behalf of the Board and Leadership team, the ABC’s Managing Director, Michelle Guthrie, said Mr Milne would provide important strategic leadership for the Corporation.

“We mark our 85th birthday in July, demonstrating the enduring link between the national broadcaster and the community. To strengthen that link, we are implementing key initiatives to ensure that we better deliver for audiences and fulfill our Charter obligations.

“Mr Milne’s business acumen and his content and digital experience will be important assets as we undergo this transformational change. The Board, management and all ABC staff look forward to working with him in cementing the ABC’s position as one of Australia’s most trusted and respected institutions.

The Prime Minister and Minister for Communications jointly announced Mr Milne’s appointment. He will serve an initial five-year term starting on the 1st of April, replacing Mr Jim Spigelman QC AC.

Mr Milne said he was delighted to take on the role and to maintain the momentum initiated by Ms Guthrie and the Board under Mr Spigelman.

“I relish the opportunity to serve the nation by chairing the ABC,” he said. “At a time of disruption, digitisation and fragmentation in the media landscape, the ABC continues to be valued by the community for its editorial standards and quality and breadth of programming.

“That provides an important foundation. However, as the ABC Board noted last month, the Corporation faces significant challenges. Those challenges – including the impact of disruptive technology and fast-changing audience trends – are familiar to me in my previous roles.

“I regard the ABC as a national treasure; fundamental to the proper functioning of our democracy. My goal is to ensure that it remains very much part of the fabric of Australian life – loved, respected and trusted.”

The ABC Board also expressed its gratitude to Mr Spigelman for his service to the Corporation. In his time as Chairman, Mr Spigelman provided important leadership and guidance to the Board and management and worked energetically to connect the national broadcaster to its many stakeholders.

The ABC Board comprises the Chair, Ms Guthrie, Simon Mordant, Donny Walford, Dr Kirstin Ferguson, Peter Lewis, Georgie Somerset, Matt Peacock and Dr Vanessa Guthrie.

Justin Milne comes to the Chairman’s position following two years as Chairman of MYOB Group Ltd. He has also held the positions of Non Executive Director with NBN Co Limited; Non Executive Director with Tabcorp Ltd; Chairman of NetComm Wireless Ltd; Group Managing Director with Telstra; CEO of OzEmail; and Managing Director of The Microsoft Network Australia.

Visit http://www.abc.net.au 


Manage your own ads on this web site. For more, click the button below.