Finalists Announced in Brian White Scholarship for Radio Journalism

Commercial Radio Australia (CRA) announced the finalists in the Brian White Scholarship today with the eight student finalists to attend a news workshop in Sydney.

Four finalists are from New South Wales; Kamin Gock, Grant Maling, Elfy Scott and Tom Livingstone. Three finalists are from Western Australia; Madeline Palmer, Anna Hay and Thomas Marlow; and Rashelle McHugh from Victoria.

The Brian White Scholarship offers aspiring journalists an eight-week paid work attachment, consisting of two weeks each at Macquarie Media, Southern Cross Austereo, Australian Radio Network and Nova Entertainment.

Final judging will take place at a workshop at Southern Cross Austereo in Sydney on 23 May. News directors; Deborah Clay (ARN), Michelle Stephenson (Nova), Erin Maher (MMR) and Natasha Jobson (SCA) will run the finalists through a series of radio news room focused tasks, including research, general knowledge and writing, to help determine who will be awarded the scholarship opportunity.

Joan Warner, Chief Executive Officer of Commercial Radio Australia said: “The radio industry is providing journalism students with an opportunity to experience the live, 24 hours a day, 7 day a week demands of a fast-paced newsroom.”

The scholarship is named after legendary radio broadcaster Brian White, commercial radio’s first cadet journalist, who went on to cover wars in Vietnam and the Middle East, authored a book on politics and the media, served as general manager of 3AW in Melbourne and chaired the Fitzroy Football Club.

The winner of the scholarship will be announced week commencing 28 May. The winner can choose to serve the work placement in either Sydney or Melbourne commencing in June, with travel and accommodation included if they live outside these cities.



Manage your own ads on this web site. For more, click the button below.