Phillip Noyce Longford Lyell Recipient AACTA Awards

Australian director Phillip Noyce was recently announced as the recipient of the AACTA Longford Lyell Award – Australia’s highest screen accolade.

The Award was presented to Phillip at the 7th AACTA Awards Ceremony presented by Foxtel on Wednesday the 6th of December at The Star Event Centre in Sydney, and telecast at on Channel 7.

First presented in 1968, the Longford Lyell Award is a tribute to Australian film pioneer Raymond Longford and his partner in filmmaking and life, Lottie Lyell. The Award is the highest honour the AACTA can bestow and recognises an individual who has made a truly outstanding contribution to the enrichment of Australia’s screen environment and culture.

Noyce joins an illustrious group of Australian directors to have received the accolade, including Peter Weir, Fred Schepisi, Charles Chauvel, Dr George Miller and Ken G. Hall, the first Australian to win an Oscar.

“I’m humbled to receive an award that bears the names of two of Australia’s greatest filmmakers,” said Noyce. “And I’m humbled to join the ranks of those previously honoured with this award, particularly Barry Jones and Philip Adams, who were so prominent in reviving our film industry in the late 1960’s, my friend and directing mentor Ken G. Hall, and Dr George Miller, who has taught us all so much with his cinema magic.”

“With an ongoing career spanning 48 years, more than 55 credits to his name and three AFI Awards among his long list of accolades, Phillip Noyce is truly one of Australia’s greatest directors,” said AFI | AACTA CEO, Damian Trewhella. “On behalf of the Academy, it is our pleasure to recognise Phil for his role as a director and as a key contributor to the reputation and quality of Australian cinema.”



Manage your own ads on this web site. For more, click the button below.