Seven Confirms Rights for 2017 Rugby League World Cup


Following unofficial reports earlier this year, Australia’s Seven Network has confirmed an agreement for coverage of the Rugby League World Cup to be co-hosted by Australia and New Zealand from 27 October to 2 December 2017.

Seven’s agreement for the Rugby League World Cup 2017 delivers all rights in Australia including free-to-air broadcast television and subscription television rights, online, mobile, and expands to Seven’s digital and mobile platforms.

Seven has also been appointed to undertake the host broadcast for international television of all games played in Australia in the Rugby League World Cup 2017.

Seven’s partnership with the Rugby League World Cup follows Seven’s broadcast of the sport’s pinnacle event in 2013. The agreement strengthens Seven’s roster of major sporting events, which includes the Australian Open tennis, the World Swimming Championships, the Rio Olympic Games, and the forthcoming Commonwealth Games on the Gold Coast in 2018. 

Michael Brown, Chief Executive Officer, Rugby League World Cup 2017, said, “The Seven Network is widely renowned as a leader in sports broadcasting and the Rugby League World Cup 2017 Organising Committee is excited by the opportunities that this partnership presents to both the tournament and the sport as a whole. Seven will broadcast live and free all 28 games, using all their expertise to showcase international Rugby League to Australian households like never before. The Rugby League World Cup 2017 will be the greatest sporting event in Australia next year and we look forward to working with Seven to deliver an event that will entertain the world, inspire communities and celebrate Rugby League.”

Tim Worner, Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer, Seven West Media, said, “We’re delighted to be the home of the Rugby League World Cup. We are looking forward to working with them. Our securing of the Cup is yet another step in our development as we build the platforms to create our future. The Rugby League World Cup delivers our business an extraordinary opportunity to drive home our leadership as we broadcast the AFL Grand Final, the Melbourne Cup, the Rugby League World Cup, the Australian Open, the Olympic Winter Games and the Commonwealth Games across late 2017 and early 2018.”

Seven West Media Chief Revenue Officer, Kurt Burnette, said, “We could not be happier to have Rugby League here on Seven. The partnership with the Rugby League World Cup will see us not only create the global television coverage but also undertake the most far-reaching and expansive coverage of the Cup across television and connected devices. We are looking forward to being a partner with the Rugby League World Cup. It will be a remarkable event. And broadcast live in our primetime.”

The Rugby League World Cup 2017 will see 14 teams play 28 games over five weeks from 27 October until 2 December 2017 inclusive. In addition to playing matches in Australia and New Zealand, there will be three pool matches played in Papua New Guinea. 

Visit and  


Manage your own ads on this web site. For more, click the button below.